2 Apr

2014

SiteGround Staging Tool Hangout – Full Record and Additional Q&A Session

Yesterday, we had an one-hour hangout about the new features we’ve added to the SiteGround Staging tool. As promised, here is a full recording of the event and answers to all the questions we couldn’t reply to live.

Additional Questions and Answers

Unfortunately, we couldn’t answer all the questions on the live event because we wanted to keep it within one hour. So here is a list of all the questions that remained unanswered until now :)

Q: Paul Oaten: If I have a 1.5 or 2.5 existing Joomla! site, can I build a new 3.2 site in a staging environment and then after all content is updated in staging push it to live status?
A: Yes, such migrations are quite time consuming and require a lot of testing. That’s why our staging tool is often used for Joomla migrations from one version to another. Make sure that the initial push you make is a simple one.

Q: Dale Davies: How do I add this feature to my reseller accounts?
A: Right now, this feature is available only on our GoGeek accounts. If any of your reseller accounts needs it, it must be upgraded to the GoGeek plan.

Q: Roger Demary: Will i see the replicated files in FTP / cPanel so i can edit those?
A: Yes, you can edit the replicated files (your staging copy) through FTP, the FileManager tool in your cPanel or even via SSH.

Q: Paul Oaten: Do you create a new username and password or use the original one?
A: Since the staging tool is replicating your live site completely, the login details for your Joomla/WordPress site are the same.

Q: Russell Huntley: what about Magento ?
Q: Right now the tool works only with Joomla and WordPress but we plan adding more supported apps. Magento is surely the first app on that list.

Q: Enrico Giubertoni: My assumption is that the staging copy (or backup) is on a physically different web server from my site.
A: No, your staging copy is generated on the same account your live site is hosted on so you can easily access and modify its files and database.

Author: Hristo Pandjarov

Product Development - Technical

Enthusiastic about all Open Source applications you can think of, but mostly about Joomla and WordPress. Add a pinch of love for web design, new technologies, search engine optimisation and you are pretty much there!

Comments (7):

  1. Russ says:

    Does this work with a new site? I use a Bootstarp coming soon page, which I would like to keep until the WP site design is complete. So the big question, is how can I design a WP site using Staging Copy without the WP site showing until I want it to.

    Does it involve downloading WordPress into the site but someone hiding it from public view. Essentially using Staging Copy for site design instead of Serverpress. Would be genius if one can.

    • Hristo says:

      Yes, you can install WordPress, create a staging copy of it and place a coming soon page on your main site or even delete it. Then, after you finish your work on your staging copy, make a simple push and it will go live :)

  2. Bill says:

    Thanks for recording this session. I found it quite useful as I had not yet tried on the staging feature. Now I can’t wait to take it out for a spin. I do have a few questions that I did not hear asked.

    1. Can I use the staging area to do a complete WordPress version update of my site? Say if my website is running version 3.2 and I want to bring up to date to version 3.81. If I understand correctly, I would just create a staging copy, run the wordpress update, and update all the plugins and code to get it running “properly” and then to a a push of evrything that I needed pushed – probably all of it using a simple push I’d guess.

    2. When pushing a site from the staging area to the live site, what would a client see as the site is pushed? I would guess occasionally it might take a little time.

    3. Is there a way to put your live site into maintainance mode, and keep it there until the site is ready again to go live?

    • Hristo says:

      I will number my answers so I don’t miss anything :)

      1. Yes, you can, that’s acutally one of the popular ways people use the staging tool. Just make sure that you use the Simple Push to Live so you fully overwrite the live website with the properly updated staging copy.

      2. The process takes just few seconds so it’s unlikely that your customer will see it during that time. At this point if the page is loaded during those few seconds you will only see a blank page. Once reloaded the new site will appear.

      3. Yes, you can either create an empty .maintenance file in the root folder of your WordPress directory or use a plugin like WP Maintenance.

  3. […] we’d recommend that you use the SiteGround Staging tool and not this toolkit. Check out our hangout on that topic and the detailed tutorial we’ve created for our […]

  4. Anne McKinnell says:

    Hi! Love the staging tool concept and really enjoyed watching the hangout. I do have one piece of feedback though. What’s happening with me is that I have a community site, I create the staging copy and work on a bunch of stuff, and by the time I am ready to push the changes to live, my community has uploaded hundreds of photos. And because it’s a responsive site, there seems to be around 15 copies of each photo in various sizes. So there are a whole ton of .jpg files that show up in the “to be deleted” list. I wish there was a way to deselect them all because I don’t want to delete anything. I just want to push a few changed php files to the live site.

    Is there way to deselect them that I haven’t found? If not, maybe that could be a feature in a new version?

    Thank you.

    Anne.

    • Hristo says:

      Hi Anne,

      Thanks for the feedback! We’re already working on the next version of the tool that will handle such cases much, much better!

Favorite Tweets

Facebook

Archive